Wedding Outfits for all Body Shapes.

As discussed in the previous post, it is safe to say that unless you are an immediate part of a wedding, shopping for an outfit is a nightmare. So, I thought, as a stylist, it would be a good idea to put together a brief collection of which types of outfit will suit which type of body shape. I want to make it so that there are both dressy and casual ideas as it is such a broad occasion to dress for, and outfits that are within a reasonable budget for the majority (i.e High Street). Each post will focus on one body shape and the outfits I feel would flatter your figure and show off your best features.

Don’t panic though if you think you do not fall perfectly in to one of these body shapes – everyone is different. This, for me, is where the real beauty of fashion comes in. Yes, there is a problem with the industry putting too much emphasis on waifs but the High Street does have a variety of styles once you know what your body shape is an how to dress it. I am not an exact pear shape, but I know that if I use it as a guideline when shopping, I will find something that suits me and then I can start to look at slightly different shapes and styles and see if they work too.

The Main Body Shapes:

Pear

Apple

(it’s not all fruit I promise)

Hourglass

Petite

Slim Athletic

Remember these are the main types but not all – everyone is different so use these briefs as ideas only not religiously and make sure you feel comfortable and confident in what you wear.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Body Shapes: Wedding Outfits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

